News Archives - Texoma Connect

Use these six heat hacks to stay safe this summer

Last year, as temperatures soared into the triple digits in Texas, 48 Texas State Parks handled 129 heat-related illnesses in humans and pets. Now that temperatures are steadily climbing, the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department is sharing their top six heat hacks for staying safe in the outdoors.

  1. Hydrate– It’s important to drink at least 16 ounces of water every hour in the heat to replenish your body and prevent dehydration. Don’t forget to bring enough for your four-legged family members too.


  2. Block the Rays –Apply a generous amount of sunscreen or sunblock before heading outdoors. Be sure to reapply every couple of hours, and after swimming or sweating.


  3. Dress Smart– Wear light, loose-fitting, breathable clothing; a hat, correct shoes, sunscreen and wet bandanas to keep you cool while in the sun. For pets, protect paws against blistering by hitting the trails during cooler times of the day when the ground isn’t hot or by putting booties on pets to help shield paws from the hot ground. Touch the pavement or ground with the back of your hand. If you cannot hold it there for five seconds, the surface is too hot for your dog’s paws.


  4. Stay Salty– Food helps keep up energy and replace salt lost from sweating. Eating snacks such as jerky, granola, trail mix, tuna and dried fruit is a fantastic way to nourish your body while on the trails.


  5. Buddy System– Two brains are better than one. It’s beneficial to have someone with you in hot conditions so you can look after each other on the trail. With high temperatures hitting Texas, heat-related illnesses are common and having a friend around to help recognize the early symptoms can save you from getting sick.


  6. Plan Ahead-Study the map and have it with your. Average hikers move at 2 miles per hour, so allow yourself plenty of time to avoid hiking in the heat of the day. Make sure to rest in a cool or shaded area to recover from the heat if necessary. it is also a good idea to let someone know your plan before you hit the trails and what time you should be back. That way, if you become lost, people know where to look.

For more information about heat safety, visit the TPWD website.

All guests, including annual pass holders, are encouraged to pre-purchase or register for day passes and overnight reservations in advance through the Texas State Parks Reservation System before heading out to a state park. Park capacities are limited, and permits sell out fast.  If purchasing a permit at the park, keep in mind that only credit card transactions can occur.  Cash is not being accepted at this time as a form of payment.  Reservations can be made online at or by calling 512-389-8900.

Existing social distancing standards and public health recommendations remain in effect including the recommendation to wear face coverings and bring one’s own supply of hand sanitizer. Face coverings are strongly encouraged when approaching others closer than six feet or when entering buildings with other guests. State parks will also continue the requirement of social distancing from individuals outside of their party, including the prohibition of the gathering of groups larger than ten, or any number that are not part of the same family or household.

Find a park in your area at

Share with your friends

Choctaw Casino and Resort – Durant Independence Weekend

Choctaw Casino and Resort July 4th

Join Choctaw Casino & Resort – Durant for our almost week-long Fourth of July celebration! Festivities will begin on Thursday, July 2 and go through Tuesday, July 7 for an unforgettable week!

Fireworks Display

On Saturday, July 4 crowds will swell as night draws near as the annual firework show will begin at dusk. The firework show will be synchronized to music, so tune into KLBC on 106.3 FM!  

Choctaw Casino and Resort July 4th


Make a splash in the poker room! Eligible rewards members play in our Poker room where up to $500 in casino chips can be added to the pot in our Star-Spangled Splash Pots July 3 through July 5.

Red, White and Win July 4 & 5. Eligible rewards members can win their share of $100,000 and one of only three red, white or blue, new Ford® Mustangs!   

The District

We’re half-way through 2020! On Thursday, July 2, join us at The District with half-off bowling, popcorn and one-hour time play card to celebrate making it half-way through 2020.

Let Freedom Bowl at The District! Every day in July when the American Flag pin is in the head position, bowl a strike to receive an American flag tumbler.

Food and Beverage

During the month of July, Monday through Thursday, enjoy our refreshing black cherry mojito spritzer for $5!

On Tuesday, July 7, join us for the grand opening celebration of Guy Fieri’s American Kitchen + Bar! Enjoy signature dishes like Trash Can Nachos or his award-winning Bacon Mac-N-Cheese Burger.

Choctaw Casino & Resort – Durant has implemented guidelines to ensure guests and associates are safe and healthy whether you’re staying or playing. Sanitizing stations are available throughout the property and social distancing is encouraged. For more property protocols and how we are keeping you safe, visit

Choctaw Casino & Resort – Durant is located at 4216 S. Highway 69/75 in Durant, Okla. To learn more visit

About Choctaw Casino & Resort in Durant, Okla.

Located an hour north of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex lies a AAA Four Diamond resort and entertainment destination, in southeastern Oklahoma. Choctaw Casino & Resort–Durant is a three-level convention/entertainment venue which offers more than 100,000 square feet of meeting and convention space and seating for more than 3,000 people. The resort’s amenities include the Oasis Pool – featuring four tropical pools with private cabanas – as well as the region’s premier entertainment complex, The District, where visitors can enjoy Tailgater’s Lounge, 20 bowling lanes, a 70-game arcade, and a state-of-the-art movie theater. The casino offers more than 4,100 slot machines, 60 table games, and a private poker lounge featuring 26 poker tables. In the spring of 2021, a major expansion effort will add the Sky Tower: 19 stories high featuring 1,000 new luxury hotel rooms, along with 3,400 additional slot machines and 34 tables in the new poker room, along with 40 table games, two new restaurants and movie theaters, and a three-acre swimming pool – making Choctaw Casino & Resort–Durant one of the largest gaming resorts in the world. For more information, visit

Share with your friends

July Activities at the Northeast Texas Children’s Museum

Barney the Goat

Spirit, the Horse, Barney the Goat, and an egg Hunt highlight July activities at the Northeast Texas Children’s Museum.

The month of July will begin with a busy week at the Northeast Texas Children’s Museum.  On Wednesday, July 1, animals from the Road Runner Ranch 3R will make an appearance from 10:00 to 11:30.  Dressed in their special Fourth of July costumes, Spirit, a miniature horse, and Barney, a very friendly goat, will visit with children.  Accompanying them will be chickens and turkeys. 

On Friday, July 3, a Fourth of July Egg Hunt will be held at 10:00 in the morning and 1:30 in the afternoon.  The traditional Easter Egg Hunt sponsored by Brookshire’s Grocery has become a Fourth of July Egg Hunt.  If Easter baskets are packed away, the museum will have Easter buckets for the egg hunt.

The number of participants and visitors to the museum will be limited for both events.  Reservations and payment may be made on-line or by calling the Children’s Museum at 903-886-6055.  The Children’s Museum will be closed on Saturday, July 4.

Science Thursdays will be offered each of the following weeks in July.  Beginning on Thursday, July 9, presentations will be offered each week at 10:00 and 2:00 on topics to include Robotics, Sound, Water, and the Making of Ooze.   

Share with your friends